The Free Trade Agreement (FTA) between the Republic of Türkiye and Georgia was signed on 21 November 2007 in Tbilisi and entered into force on 1 November 2008.

In addition to eliminating   tariffs and non-tariff barriers, the FTA  also regulates numerous areas such as sanitary and phytosanitary measures, intellectual property rights, internal taxation, balance of payments, anti-dumping, safeguard measures, rules of origin and competition.

According to the Agreement, customs duties on imports and any charges having equivalent effect on industrial products originating in the Republic of Türkiye or Georgia are reciprocally abolished upon the entry into force of this Agreement.

Concerning agricultural products, Türkiye granted duty reduction or exemption from customs duties in the form of tariff quotas for certain products, in return Georgian Side eliminated tariffs on imports into Georgia for agricultural products originating in Türkiye, except for a limited number of products. Reciprocal concession lists for agricultural products are laid down in Protocol I of the Agreement.

The products which will benefit from the preferential tariffs should fulfill the rules of origin set out in Protocol II of the Agreement. Decision No 1/2016 of the Joint Committee established by the Free Trade Agreement replaces the Protocol II, and is applicable as of 29 April 2021. The Decision makes refence to the Regional Convention on pan-Euro-Mediterranean preferential rules of origin and enables diagonal cumulation between Türkiye, Georgia and the European Union.